Basic facts about Albania

Albanian Shqipnija or Shqiperia, officially Republic of Albania (estimated population 3,04 millions of inhabitants), 28.752 square kilometers, South Eastern Europe, on the Adriatic coast of the Balkan Peninsula; bordered by Yugoslavia (North), Macedonia (East), and Greece (South).

Except for the fertile Adriatic coast, Albania is mountainous, rising to 9.066 feet (2.763 meters) at Mountain Korab, on the Macedonian border. More than 90% of the population is ethnically Albanian; the Albanian language is an Indo-European tongue with two dialects. Greeks are the largest ethnic minority. The population is predominantly Muslim, with Roman Catholic and Greek Orthodox minorities.

Capital: Tirana 

Administrative divisions: 36 districts (rrethe, singular - rreth); Berat, Bulqize, Delvine, Devoll (Bilisht), Diber (Peshkopi), Durres, Elbasan, Fier, Gjirokaster, Gramsh, Has (Krume), Kavaje, Kolonje (Erseke), Korce, Kruje, Kucove, Kukes, Kurbin, Lezhe, Librazhd, Lushnje, Malesi e Madhe (Koplik), Mallakaster (Ballsh), Mat (Burrel), Mirdite (Rreshen), Peqin, Permet, Pogradec, Puke, Sarande, Shkoder, Skrapar (Corovode), Tepelene, Tirane (Tirana), Tropoje (Bajram Curri), Vlore 

Independence: 28 November 1912 (from Ottoman Empire) 

Constitution: a constitution was adopted by popular referendum on 28 November 1998

Legal system: 
Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal and compulsory

 Executive branchchief of state: President
head of government: Prime Minister

Cabinet: Council of Ministers nominated by the prime minister and approved by the president 

Elections: president elected by the People's Assembly for a five-year term; prime minister appointed by the president. 

Legislative branch: unicameral People's Assembly or Kuvendi Popullor (155 seats; most members are elected by direct popular vote and some by proportional vote for four-year terms) 

Judicial branch: Supreme Court, chairman of the Supreme Court is elected by the People's Assembly for a four-year term.